Viability!

We made it to 24 weeks! Phew! Obviously we don’t want these guys to show up anytime soon, but it’s nice to know they’d have a chance outside of me at this point. I also hit another major milestone of gaining 24 lbs by 24 weeks! I’ve done a ton of research on how to prevent preterm labor with twins and weight gain seems to be crucial. My doctor recommended 20 lbs by 20 weeks but I wasn’t able to hit that mark. I found a few articles that suggested 24 by 24 was just as important so I made that my new goal, and I made it! With .2 lbs to spare 🙂

Tomorrow is also our 3rd anniversary. It’s hard to believe it’s taken us 3 years to get to this point in our infertility journey. Honestly though, I can’t say I’m disappointed with how it all turned out. It was nice to have my husband to myself these last few years. It’s awesome that we are making up for lost time by getting TWO babies at once! And we are certainly in a good place financially and in our marriage to welcome these little guys with opened arms.

I have another growth ultrasound on Thursday, hoping for no surprises. They’ve been doing SO great I hope our good report card continues. Also hoping everything still looks good with their fluid and my cervix. There has been talk of bedrest lately and I am really hoping to make it another 4-6 weeks at work. But I am definitely in camp “whatever it takes to keep them in the longest”, so I will adhere to the doctor’s orders!

Really can’t complain about anything at the moment. Sure there are times when I’m uncomfortable and sleep is beginning to allude me, but really nothing too bad. Just happy to have these little guys growing! Trying to appreciate every single second of this after all we’ve been through.

Hoping all the best to each of you!!!!

5 thoughts on “Viability!

  1. Yay! 24 weeks is such an exciting milestone and knowing that the babies could be okay if born early is such a relief. I know the feeling (we are exactly the same number of weeks along with twin boys!) When is your due date? I love reading your updates and knowing that things are going well with you! Hope things continue to go smoothly over the next few months!

    • My dr. said she will not let me go past Jan 11, but my normal person due date is Jan 31, for what that’s worth. How are you doing comfort wise? Hanging in there? I just think twin boys are the best, we’re so excited! Are you getting things prepared?

Leave a Reply

