I should be better at waiting

So if you’ll recall from my last post, I am waiting on our Maternit21 results. I’m so thankful this test was an option for us so we won’t ever have to consider an amnio. I really think in the next 2-3 years this test will completely replace the amnio. I mean a 99% negative and 93% positive result is pretty damn accurate. Anyway, I was told we would get the results in 5-10 business days. Most people report getting the results in about 6-7 business days, however we are fortunate to live in the same city as one of 3 labs that performs this test. So I have to assume that would save a day or so in shipping time. 

Today is day 5, so it is my belief that as of now the phone could ring at any moment. Which I’ve found to be incredibly more nerve wracking than the previous 7 days when I wasn’t expecting to hear anything. Any time my phone lights up, I pee a little bit (ok not really, but just about). I am trying not to obsess TOO much as I believe it is causing me stress. But man, waiting to hear if both of your babies are healthy is about as nerve wracking as it gets.

Thankfully our NT screening results were in the normal range (which detects 70-75% of trisomys) so that does give me some comfort that our results will come back just fine. But I can’t help but to still worry. 

To top it all off, part of this test includes revealing the gender of the babies. Which obviously is another amazing upside to this test. To definitively know the gender of your babies at 14ish weeks is pretty awesome. We will of course find out, I am a planner. I also think people who want to be “surprised” are borderline insane. 

Our plan is once I get the call, I will then set into motion my plan on how to reveal to my husband the gender. I have two plans based on the time of day I get the call (he insists that he must know the day I find out, not that I blame him). A more elaborate plan if I get the call before lunch and a less elaborate plan if I find out later in the day. I’d love to share these plans with you for your opinions, but my husband reads my blog 🙂 However if anyone has any great ideas, please feel free to leave them in the comments.

For the next few days, prayers are appreciated. Prayers for a “negative” result (not negative as in bad but negative as in negative for any trisomy) and fingers crossed that the results are in sooner rather than later. I will post as soon as I find out!

3 thoughts on “I should be better at waiting

  1. We will be surprised about the sex. Infertility has taken away so many surprises in this process. Plus we want at least one thing to be old fashioned in this whole shindig. I don’t think I’m insane. And I don’t judge people who want to find out the sex. Each person’s journey is their own. I’m certainly a planner, and can still be one despite not knowing if my baby will be a boy or a girl. We are very excited to have the sex reveled to us on our baby’s birthday!
    Thoughts and prayers on your tests. I know how nerve wracking they can be! I hope the days fly by for you and everything turns out perfect.

Leave a Reply

