11 Week OB Appointment

It’s been a while since I’ve posted anything, sorry about that. Just not a whole lot to report right now (which is a good thing!). Mostly I’ve just been laying low and counting the days until my next appointment.

On Tuesday I had my appointment with my OB, this is the doctor that got me pregnant on times 2 & 3. She also did my D&C and has been with me the majority of my journey. So needless to say I was very excited to see her.

Her nurse was so sweet (each doctor at my office has their own designated nurse), she just couldn’t believe our good luck (that makes 3 of us!). She just kept saying – twins, wow! I feel guilty when people get so happy & excited about it and I’m all like “ya…we’ll see how it goes”. Anyway I still appreciated her enthusiasm.

OB gave me a hug when she came in and we chit chatted for a while. Then she did a pap & full body exam before getting out the magic listen to the babies machine. I know this is probably super exciting for most, but I actually have my own fetal doppler at home and it works just as well. So we’ve already heard them 4-6 times, but still nice to have a doctor listen to them and say it all sounds good.

What I was most looking forward to with this appointment was getting my first trimester screening scheduled. We’ve never opted for this before, but since our last baby had trisomy 18 – we figured we should do it this time. My OB was really hoping I’d be able to get in next week so that they could also check to see if each baby had their own amniotic sac, since we still don’t know that and would drastically change how risky this all is.

Unfortunately they aren’t able to get me in until July 29. But that will be the day before the 13 week mark, so assuming they tell us all looks normal, I will allow myself to finally enjoy this. We are so hoping that the results aren’t borderline or high risk for a trisomy (obviously). I really need those results to be good to feel any relief or joy, otherwise I’ll be filled with worry for the next 5-6 months.

It’s a 90 minute appointment, so I am excited for that (again assuming everything looks good). The first 60 minutes are primarily the ultrasound and the second 30 minutes are a consult. I’m anxious to see how often they want to see me going forward. Of course I’m also anxious to know if they both have their own amniotic sac, the odds say they will but I tend to defy all odds (obviously) so that doesn’t mean much.

I’ve had a ton of headaches, mostly lazy and tired, and throw up once in the morning now and that’s it. But I’m thankful for any and all symptoms, no complaints here. Still really haven’t told many people (other than immediate family & our favorite aunt & uncle). I’ve had to start wearing looser fitting tops to work as I do have a little bump after eating (no worries – I don’t plan to take or post bump pictures – gross). Anyway, so that’s where I’m at. Prayers & well wishes for our babies are appreciated! Congrats to everyone who’s gotten their BFP lately and good luck to anyone on or approaching their TWW!

6 thoughts on “11 Week OB Appointment

  1. Thank you for updating me! I think of you often and check in a lot to see if you have posted. You share a similar story with my twin sis ( we both went through IF and IVF) and she is staring at her twin babies today. I hope and wish the same for you- I can tell you are a lovely person and OH SO DESERVING! Please keep us posted on your beautiful miracle. Xoxo

  2. I hadn’t been able to keep up with your journey again until just recently because I have been busy with summer courses. I was shocked to read that you are now pregnant with twins! I must admit my first feeling about it was a bit of jealously, but then I remembered what you’ve been through and how your success shows that I might get lucky too. I look forward to hearing more updates about the progress of your pregnancy/twins. I’ll keep my fingers crossed for you.

    • Believe me, I was shocked too! Still shocked after almost 2 months. It does sort of annoy me that we are one of those “fluke” stories, I always hated those as I think they are just mostly a source for false hope. But clearly, ya just never know. I’ll keep my fingers crossed for you too!

  3. Thinking about you in the days between appointments–I know how those days can drag. Lots of water, lots of walks. Keep us posted.

Leave a Reply

