Graduation Day

So after a long week wait of being very, very nervous that our babies were still healthy & growing, I finally had my 8w4d ultrasound at the clinic. I had truly prepared for the worst, having been through the worst 3 previous times. Thankfully, all is still well with our lil guys (or gals). Baby A measured 8w5d and had a hr of 172. Baby B measured 8w4d and had a hr of 165. Obviously their growth is right on target and I’m told those heartbeats are great (and I refuse to Dr. Google otherwise). Unfortunately, we couldn’t see yet if they each had their own amniotic sac yet or not (which would decrease the risk to both of them). The doctor thought MAYBE she could see one individual sac, but that it was just too early. So now we’ll have to wait another 3 weeks for the NT scan to be sure. 

I was hoping to milk the clinic for one more ultrasound, but she said it was time to graduate me just to my OBGYN (and eventually a MFM dr. as well). So I was congratulated, handed some baby magazine, and sent on my way. A fertility clinic graduate, put that on my resume! Anyway, you’d think that’d be a big milestone, but it just feels kinda empty to me. Of course I am thrilled we’ve gotten nothing but good results so far, but I just can’t help but still be skeptical. Granted, we are already farther than 2 of my 3 last pregnancies. I think perhaps after the NT scan I’ll allow myself to believe its real (assuming we get another good report card).

I’m so very relieved that everything is still ok. And the morning sickness is starting to kick in a bit, which is such a nice reminder that hopefully things are working as they should. So we just continue to wait, hope & pray! Thanks for all of your support! 

5 thoughts on “Graduation Day

  1. Your fears and apprehensions are normal…
    Congratulations on your graduation…wish we could’ve achieved that!

  2. That is great : ) Hoping you get the news you want at your next scan. I know it will be great news! Congratulations and I will continue to pray.

Leave a Reply

